Diablo 3 Ps4 Too Easy on Normal

  • For information on humanitarian relief/support efforts for Ukraine, and how you can help, please visit this thread.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an alternative browser.
AgainstTheCurrent
  • #1
Ok, so I started Diablo 3 co-op this week. Other than Torchlight, its the first kind of game like this I've played really.

So I put it on normal. I didn't even lose any health.

I put it on hard. No difference.

I changed it to expert, the highest level I can before hitting lvl 70, and I haven't come close to dying.

I'm starting Act 3, so I'm halfway through the game, and I'm really enjoying the level design, story, character builds, but it's just SO damn easy.

What's the deal?

My friend and I aren't the type of people to re-play it over and over to get higher loot, so once we finish it, that will be that. Maybe we'll get the DLC to get Act V, but that will be it.

It's really souring what is otherwise a great experience, because I feel like I could stand still in a group of enemies for 2 minutes and not die.

Am I missing something??

Djawed
  • #2
The reason why i dislike it so much as well.
Fahzzy
  • #3
It's not a game about challenge, it's a game about feeling powerful. The only way to make it difficult is to put it above recommended torment levels later on. But then it's artificial difficulty, because of RPG leveling and such.

Rudolph

Attempted to circumvent ban with alt account
  • #4
You have to do the greater rifts. Which means you have to grind to find a challenge which is super wierd because normally you grind for other reasons not to get to the hard part XD
MrNewVegas
  • #5
They unknowingly jumped on to the Podcast Game genre lol. I prefer it to be easier.
AgainstTheCurrent
  • #6
It's not a game about challenge, it's a game about feeling powerful. The only way to make it difficult is to put it above recommended torment levels later on. But then it's artificial difficulty, because of RPG leveling and such.
It doesn't have to be Dark Souls, but it's just mindless clicking pretty much?

Only the story keeping me going at this point.

Donos
  • #7
Ok, so I started Diablo 3 co-op this week. Other than Torchlight, its the first kind of game like this I've played really.

So I put it on normal. I didn't even lose any health.

I put it on hard. No difference.

I changed it to expert, the highest level I can before hitting lvl 70, and I haven't come close to dying.

I'm starting Act 3, so I'm halfway through the game, and I'm really enjoying the level design, story, character builds, but it's just SO damn easy.

What's the deal?

My friend and I aren't the type of people to re-play it over and over to get higher loot, so once we finish it, that will be that. Maybe we'll get the DLC to get Act V, but that will be it.

It's really souring what is otherwise a great experience, because I feel like I could stand still in a group of enemies for 2 minutes and not die.

Am I missing something??

Because Story is just the tutorial. Once lvl 70 and adventure mode, the real diablo 3 begins. Torment difficulty and rifts is the meat.
Thornquist
  • #8
Diablo could certainly learn some things from Dark Souls.
That game is actually the type of creative risk I wanted Blizzard to take. Instead they just remolded the Diablo 2 formula, and managed to make a worse game in the process.
AgainstTheCurrent
  • #9
Because Story is just the tutorial. Once lvl 70 and adventure mode, the real diablo 3 begins. Torment difficulty and rifts is the meat.
It doesn't exactly need a 15 hour tutorial. Equip weapons and abilities, click, go. Rocket science it ain't.
99Luffy
  • #10
"Diablo 2 was good but I wish you could choose a difficulty level from 1 to 20" -Activision
Solid Shake
  • #11
Because it's supposed to start when you beat the game.

That being said it never held my attention longer than that. I think it was downright bad game design.

Calibro
  • #12
It's power fantasy, it's supposed to be 'get in a room full of monsters and explode them all'. Later you get Great Rifts and some challenge.

Also people complained too much about vanilla inferno. Now that was fucking hard, I liked it.

Baliis
  • #13
A long time ago, they changed the way loot rolled so that it tended to roll stats that were useful to your class. This made it a lot easier to get say, Dex + Vit in every slot as a DH. When I first played D3 at launch, I got to Diablo on my DH with literally no vit on my gear and not even dex on every slot because the loot was entirely random.

After they made this change, they never really rebalanced the lower level stuff because who cares, the real game is about high Torment level rifts and Greater Rifts. You can level pretty easily now days all the way to 70 on Master or even Torment 1 as certain classes or if you get a Reduced Level Req weapon.

Darth Vapor
  • #14
Everyone complained back when it was hard.
Poppy
  • #15
basically it went the same way as world of warcraft
Rickenslacker
  • #16
It's basically a musou, just go in and have everything blow up at the sight of you. Diablo 2 was significantly better about offering a proper ramp-up in this respect, but D3 is a very different game.
It's power fantasy, it's supposed to be 'get in a room full of monsters and explode them all'. Later you get Great Rifts and some challenge.

Also people complained too much about vanilla inferno. Now that was fucking hard, I liked it.

Vanilla inferno was pretty bad. The entire experience up 'til then was a cakewalk then you slam right into the brick wall of inferno where it suddenly became a tedious grind for ilvl gating.
Tibarn
  • #17
I played alone through the game to see the story and lore (it wasn't worth it) and then played several more times with friends.
When you finish the game, more (a lot) of difficulty levels unlock, and there's rifts and aventure mode for the people who want thougher challenges.
It's a bad decision, because the first run can be boring, and then even on the hardest difficulties the only exciting thing are the bosses, because the unique enemies only adquire insane amounts of HP and absurd AoE permanent effects, so you will die more because you couldn't see what was happening on the screen than for the real challenge the game offers.
Smurf
  • #18
It gets harder later.

The way the game is set up right now is for you to beat it and get to the level 70 as easy as possible, get your class set piece and then start the grind.

Donos
  • #19
It doesn't exactly need a 15 hour tutorial. Equip weapons and abilities, click, go. Rocket science it ain't.
You know that i didn't literally meant tutorial as in learning the game.
I agree that it is too easy. I breezed through on hard or higher (can't remember, was there a master diff? ) with the Crusader. It's a bit disappointing, i know but i got my worth out of the game when i got to 70 and started Torment diff., rifts and hunting for sets. You can get spanked easily in higher diffs.

Have a rather high DH i didn't touch for a year.

Last edited:
Xiaomi
  • #20
It's why I only played on Hardcore, but even then the only things that could kill me were hilariously high greater rifts. It's a loot treadmill and a time-waster now. I hope they add difficulty to the sequel.
  • #21
You have to play on the higher torment levels to really have any difficulty. The game is also about the loot grind and efficiency more than it is difficulty of the encounters.

Also I'm not sure what class you are playing, but the Crusader is extremely OP, to the point that I'm not even sure it's possible to die playing that class with the right set up and decent gear. Other classes are a lot squishier

TSM
  • #22
It's nearly impossible to have a smooth difficulty curve initially because the entire game is completely gear driven. If you find good stuff you over power very quickly. The game proper doesn't even begin until level 70. Once you reach 70 in adventure mode you can guage your progress by finding your ceiling in greater rifts. But yeah, the trek to level 70 is pretty terrible as everything is gated off and slowly unlocks during that process. If you enjoy the game post 70 in a couple hundred hours you will completely disregard how terrible the initial climb was. If you play seasons you can always wait a couple days and just have someone power level you.
It's why I only played on Hardcore, but even then the only things that could kill me were hilariously high greater rifts. It's a loot treadmill and a time-waster now. I hope they add difficulty to the sequel.

Hardcore is pretty silly. I was slowly grinding my way up in HC and didn't run into any problems until I went up a couple GR and out of nowhere I was one shot by the rift guardian twice in a row. I was breezing through everything up until that point as a Demon Hunter. I decided it wasn't even worthwhile.
SLB1904
  • #23
Same problem here
Boring game
superNESjoe
  • #24
The only challenging stuff comes in very late end game, and while the game is fun in its own ways it's not what I was ever looking for in this type of ARPG.

I know it's dated so it can be harder for players who didn't play it back in the day, but try Diablo 2.

BashNasty
  • #25
I see this argument often, and it confuses me a bit. I've put well over 700 hours into Diablo III. I love the game and, once you gear up at max level, it totally is a game about blowing through everything you see as fast as you possibly can, and it's glorious for that.

That said, while first starting out a brand new character, I absolutely can die if I put the game on expert. I typically play on hard because I find everything dies faster there and I don't have to worry about dying. People posting that the game is too easy confuses me because while it absolutely is on normal, I really don't think it's that easy if you pump up the difficulty setting.

aesync
  • #26
Uhhhh have you tried torment yet? It really picks up. You can go from feeling powerful 99% of the time to suddenly dying in an instant if you aren't paying attention. Those purple death beams that spawn on enemies... ouchie.

Also, if you want a challenge, play hardcore. That's where the game is at. Every encounter is nerve wrecking, especially if you work up through the torments.

Tambini
  • #27
There was nothing easy about inferno act 2 at launch..
  • #28
It is a Skinner box. It's not about challenging you, it's about stimulating the pleasure centers of the brain by watching numbers go up and being powerful.
Silky
  • #29
Yeah it's piss easy lol. Coming off of Torchlight 2 to Diablo 3 was a huge disappointment at the jump regarding difficulty. It's even worse because at the time of launch, Monk was DUMB strong.
  • #30
The game got retuned to be hard later after the trash that was Inferno. That shit was broken from Act 2+. All you could really do was farm goblins or buy a waypoint from someone to get access to an easy rare spawn for days before you got anything good to maybe attempt to not get 1 shot or take ages kiting.
  • #31
There was nothing easy about inferno act 2 at launch..
This. I played twice, one at launch and the again during reaper of souls. The difference in difficulty between launch and reaper of souls isn't even comparable.
Alienhated
  • #32
That's just how most games are made since 7th gen.
Zackat
  • #33
It gets more difficult with greater rifts. It's also not that difficult of a game. Its a loot grinder first and foremost.
Franco_Tech
  • #34
I currently playing The game right now on ps4 and yes the game is petty easy. I died once and that was my fault killing myself.
Zapperino
  • #35
It's not a difficult game by any means. I feel that most of the game is a statcheck more than anything.
Actinium
Edward
  • #37
Diablo could certainly learn some things from Dark Souls.
That game is actually the type of creative risk I wanted Blizzard to take. Instead they just remolded the Diablo 2 formula, and managed to make a worse game in the process.
What can it learn? Not everything needs to be Dark Souls and not everything needs to be overly difficult. The difficulty in high torment/rifts are fine and making it overly hard defeats the purpose of Diablo. Diablo has always been about grinding and looting.
HF2014
  • #38
The challenge start when you finish the game. The story mode is nothing. Wait till you can do torment XIII diffficulty in rifts.
Dark_Castle
  • #39
D3 isn't designed around levelling experience but endgame.
Hellraider
  • #40
Although I have enjoyed the many hours I have with Diablo, the main problem is that in the end of the day it just isn't a particularly deep game. You get a ridiculous overpowered set of gear, you make a pretty simple and one dimensional build around it, and you just wreak havoc. Repeat ad infinitum.

Honestly I have had this problems with pretty much all the games I have played from its genre. I'd really love to try a slower, more methodical attempt at this type of game, because let's face it. At the speed shit is happening there can barely be any tactics involved besides trying to annihilate everything as fast as you can.

I also haven't tried D3 when it was released, but having the same cheap mechanics with the difficulty up many notches sounds even worse.

AgainstTheCurrent
  • #41
The 'challenge starts when you finish the game' argument doesn't fly with me.

When I finish the game, I'll be moving on to the next one.

I get lots of people replay and replay these games, but it sucks that players who don't won't get the best experience.

Oh well.

Silky
  • #42
The 'challenge starts when you finish the game' argument doesn't fly with me.

When I finish the game, I'll be moving on to the next one.

I get lots of people replay and replay these games, but it sucks that players who don't won't get the best experience.

Oh well.


Have you played Torchlight 2? I think if you're looking for respectable difficulty within the main storyline, you should definitely check that and Path of Exile out.

Diablo's difficulty is really meant for the Adventure Mode/greater rifts/seasonal runs. It's a shame that it's underwhelming compared to previous entries though.

Renmyra
  • #43
The 'challenge starts when you finish the game' argument doesn't fly with me.

When I finish the game, I'll be moving on to the next one.

I get lots of people replay and replay these games, but it sucks that players who don't won't get the best experience.

Oh well.

You're a few years late to the party. They already nerfed everything because people couldn't handle Inferno. Diablo has always been a late-game experience anyway. That's where the gear (and the challenge) is. You won't be "replaying" the game. It's a completely different game at the max level. Treat it like an MMO.
Last edited:
Dylan
  • #44
The same reason slot machines are easy fam.
AgainstTheCurrent
  • #45
Have you played Torchlight 2? I think if you're looking for respectable difficulty within the main storyline, you should definitely check that and Path of Exile out.

Diablo's difficulty is really meant for the Adventure Mode/greater rifts/seasonal runs. It's a shame that it's underwhelming compared to previous entries though.

I've played Torchlight 1 and thought Diablo 3 might be a better buy than T2.

In some ways, it is (story and world/level design), but I didn't expect there to be no difficulty.

I guess I'll try T2 and PoE. Thanks.

AzureFlame
  • #47
Games like this should've been a little challenging at least.
Ge0force
  • #48
I stopped playing diablo 3 after act 2. There's no challenge AT ALL, which is incredibly boring for me.

Forcing us to play the entire campaign on super duper easy difficulty is one of the most terrible design decisions I've ever seen in a game.

Donos
  • #49
The 'challenge starts when you finish the game' argument doesn't fly with me.

When I finish the game, I'll be moving on to the next one.

I get lots of people replay and replay these games, but it sucks that players who don't won't get the best experience.

Oh well.

It's not replaying the game. It opens up with an "adventure mode" and lvl70. It's not just NG+. They do a bad job at communicating this beforehand and the difficulty is definitively too easy in the story mode.
Most of the target audience enjoyed the adventure mode. If you just play through Story mode, on normal for like 6 hours, i can understand the dissapointment but i would never have payed money for just that.

Just look at this. That is the endgame stuff, starting at T1. Story mode should run on Hard/Expert on default (as normal) but probably be played at Master all the time.

V9mHRRs.jpg
Last edited:
whiskas_fanatic
  • #50
You are complaining about beginning of the game (yes, it starts slowly) - endgame and Great Rifts are hard to the point where you just can't play them without proper gear and build. Your complains are like "I played starter area in WOW - why is game so easy? Endgame? No, i'm not interested in raids, why is game so easy right now?!"

hardtsplaccut1946.blogspot.com

Source: https://www.resetera.com/threads/why-is-diablo-3-so-easy.22568/

0 Response to "Diablo 3 Ps4 Too Easy on Normal"

Post a Comment

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel